Association of Past Teachers

The Shepherdian Association of Past Teachers (APT) was the first one of its kind to be formed in any school in the Island- a fact which  we are all proud of.

About APT

The Association of Past Teachers (APT) was founded in 1983, during the tenure of Sr. M. Agnes de Sampayo-one of our former Principals.It was the brain-child of a few Senior Teachers who retired from service.

The Association now has a membership of about 100 members and is affiliated to the Teachers’ Guild. This Association promotes fellowship amongst the Past Teachers and the present Teachers who are members of the Teachers’ Guild whilst at the same time affording the opportunity to Past Teachers to participate in many school functions.

Become a Member

All Teachers who have served on the staff of Good Shepherd Convent are eligible to be Members of the Association.

Contact the Secretary of the Association for further details.


Patron : Rev Sr Superior - Good Shepherd Convent - Kotahena.
Ex - Officio Vice Presidents -
The Principal
The Head Mistress of the Primary
The Directress of the Montessori House of Children -Colombo 13

Committee Members

President -   Mrs. Shriyani Algama
Vice President - Mrs. Sunimal Kurumbalapitiya /   Miss. Hazel Rodrigo

Secretary -   Mrs. Joy Christian
Joint Secretary -   Mrs. Neomal Boteju
Treasurer - Mrs. Rosemary Jayawardane
Joint Treasurer - Mrs. Nandani Premkumar
Committee Members - Mr. Nimal Fernsando
                                 Mrs. Dorothy Fernando
                                 Mrs.Damayanthy Perera



Seated left to right :-

Mrs. Sunimal Kurumbalapitiya(Vice President), Mrs. Neomal Boteju(Joint Secretary), Rev. Sr. Nilani Silva(Head Mistress Primary), Mrs. Shriyani Algama(President),Rev. Sr. Renuka Silva(Principal),Mrs. Joy Christian(Secretary),Miss. Hazel Rodrigo(Vice President)

1st row left to right:-

Mrs. Rosemary Jayawardana(Treasurer), Mr. Nimal Fernando(Committee member), Mrs. Dorothy Fernando(Committee member), Mrs.Damayanthy Perera(Committee member), Mrs. Nandani Premkumar(Joint Treasurer),

Contact Details

Vice President :    Miss. Hazel Rodrigoe   - T.P:  2522588
Treasurer :    Mrs. Rosemary Jayawardane - T.P:  2448640


APT - Programme for the year 2014

★ Annual Picnic
★ Lenten Programme
★ Visiting the Sick ( 15th March)
★ Christmas party to be held on the 1st of December
★ Mass For The Deceased Members on 8th November,2014 – Celebrated by Father Noel Dias
★ A.G.M. Christmas Party on the 7th December 2014

Please note that all dates given above have been scheduled tentatively and the members will be informed about the respective events at the appropriate time.